Democrats Meltdown Over Kevin McCarthy’s Picks For Jan 6 Panel

Bizpac Review

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy, R-Calif., has reportedly decided on which five Republican lawmakers will serve on Speaker Nancy Pelosi’s select committee to investigate the Jan. 6 attack on the U.S. Capitol.

Barring any objections from Pelosi, who has the final say, U.S. Rep. Jim Banks, R-Ind., chair of the Republican Study Committee, will be the ranking member on the panel as McCarthy takes the high road instead of boycotting the committee altogether, as some Republicans suggested to avoid giving it any credibility.

He will be joined by U.S. Rep. Jim Jordan, R-Ohio, a staunch Trump ally who is the top Republican on the House Judiciary Committee, U.S. Rep. Rodney Davis, R-Ill., the ranking member on House Administration Committee, U.S. Rep. Kelly Armstrong, R-N.D., who was one of seven House Republicans to sign a letter opposing the effort to object to the 2020 Electoral College, and U.S. Rep. Troy Nehls, R-Texas, a freshman and a former county sheriff.

“You’ve got a mix from the entire conference, from people who objected, people who didn’t object. … You’ve got people who authored the commission,” the minority leader told reporters. “So, you’ve got a microcosm of the conference.”

McCarthy’s picks will join seven Democratic lawmakers plus U.S. Rep. Liz Cheney, R-Wyo., who was hand-picked by Speaker Pelosi after being ousted from her position in House GOP leadership for her criticism of Trump. The special panel is chaired by U.S. Rep. Bennie Thompson, D-Miss., chairman of the Homeland Security Committee.

Seems Democrats took great exception to Jordon being on the committee, being that he has proven to be a real fighter in standing up to the party’s political machinations on Capitol Hill.

Here’s a quick sampling of the objections from Twitter:

You might like:

Stories You May Like