Greg Abbott and Beto O’Rourke win Texas gubernatorial primaries

Washington Examiner

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott defeated Republican primary challengers, and former Rep. Beto O’Rourke won the Democratic gubernatorial nomination in the Lone Star State’s Tuesday primary elections.

Abbott faced seven primary challengers in his race for reelection: businessman Don Huffines, ex-state GOP Chairman Allen West, conservative media personality Chad Prather, philanthropist and baroness Kandy Kaye Horn, attorney Paul Belew, businessman Danny Harrison, and Rick Perry — not the same Rick Perry who was previously the governor of Texas, but rather a computer engineer.

Abbott’s primary challengers faced steep odds, as the governor currently leads O’Rourke in general election polling, and no incumbent governor of Texas has lost their party’s nomination since 1978, according to Ballotpedia.

O’Rourke easily defeated a handful of low-profile Democratic rivals. He previously ran unsuccessful bids for the Senate and the White House but has a reputation as a fundraising powerhouse and a national profile.

The primary victories set Abbott and O’Rourke up to face off in November’s election.

You might like:

Stories You May Like